Crisis Response History

Crisis Response History

In 1993 the Crisis Response Team was created under the direction of then Chief Jeff Wiley under the administration of Sheriff Harold Tridico. Captain Paul Robert was designated as the CRT Commander. He and Deputy Commander Lt. Benny Delaune assembled the original team. The original CRT was comprised of Captain Paul Robert, Lt. Benny Delaune, Lt. Dan Falcon, then Lt. Bobby Webre, Det C.J. Matthews, Dy. Bill Wade, and Dy. Dean Smith.

The unit’s first training session was conducted on June 14, 1993. On July 26, 1993 the unit began a training regimen conducted by hostage-rescue instructors with experience in some of the world’s most elite military tactical units. Their first live fire training day took place on August 9, 1993 in the old rubber tire shoot house at the now defunct Louisiana State Police range facility in Walker, Louisiana.

In February of 1994, Captain Will Cannon and Sgt Brett Babin were added to the team. On August 10, 1994 a selection process for new members was conducted and Craig Beaman and Tyson Dennis joined the unit.

In February, 1998 a selection process was held, and Kevin Hanna, Jeff Legrange and Chris Moody were added to the team. In 1998 John Hebert was also added to CRT.

A need to expand, along with natural attrition resulted in the addition of Donald Capello, Johnny Darville, Andy Gremillion, John Griffin, Ward Webb and Gerald Whealton in March of 2000.

In August of 2001 CRT gained a key asset when Dr. Chris Trevino, a trauma emergency room doctor, was commissioned and assigned to the unit.

On April 1, 2006 Sgt. Andy Gremillion was transferred from Patrol Division to the Training Center and named to the newly created position of CRT Tactical Supervisor. His duties included training development and implementation, tactical oversight, and overseeing the day to day operation of the unit. In May of that same year the largest selection process to date was held. Twenty five Deputies participated in the newly designed process, with ten being selected and added to the unit. David Baldwin, Sam Caston, Marc Dufren, Daniel Foulds, T.J. Gaughf, Joey Mayeaux, Tony Nethken, Blake Prejean, Steven Thrash, Bill Taylor and Eric Villavaso were added as a result of this selection process.

In January of 2009, another selection process was conducted and David Dykes, Trevor Reeves, Darryl Smith, Tony Tureau and David Labouliere were added to the team.

Also in January of 2009 the CRT acquired a key piece of equipment- a Tactical Rescue Vehicle (TRV). Manufactured by LENCO Armored Vehicles and designated the Bearcat, this armored vehicle was purchased using forfeited funds seized from drug dealers. A group of CRT members traveled to Orlando, Florida and took possession of the TRV from LENKO where it had been on display at annual Shooting, Hunting, and Outdoor Trade Show.

March of 2009 saw an addition of another key piece of equipment to the CRT inventory- an ANDROS robot. Also in March, Dr. William “Beau” Clark joined Dr. Trevino as a member of the CRT’s medical detachment.

November of 2009 an opening for the Tactical Supervisor position became available, and after an extensive selection process, Lt. C.J. Matthews was appointed to the position with Lt. Donald Capello as the Deputy Tactical Supervisor.

January, 2012 saw another selection process with the addition of Ryan Blank, Justin Brown, Milton Cayette, Chance Crochet, Brad Gomez, Jason Jones, and Quinton Leblanc to the team.

The CRT moved into a new home in February of 2012 when the new APSO Training Center at 9094 St. Landry Road was completed. In the new center the CRT has a 2500 square foot bay dedicated exclusively to meeting the training, operations briefing, and equipment storage needs of the team. For the first time the team’s equipment truck, tactical rescue vehicle, and robot trailer are able to be kept fully loaded in a climate-controlled environment to be able to respond to an incident at moment’s notice.

In 2014 the team added Chase Blanchard, Jake Garcia, Quinton Foster, Sam Schexnayder and Josh Callaway.

In the early part of 2016 Captain Donald Capello was named as the Commander of the CRT.

The selection process in 2017 added Patrick Landry, Carson Fee, Cody Dardeau, Roman Bartholomew, Ty Cobb, Joseph Price, and Garrett Keith.

In February of 2019 the CRT passed from the hands of the former Commander, LTC Donald Capello to Lt. Blake Prejean.

Also in February of 2019 the team conducted a selection process which added Roger Oubre, Dane Leblanc, Dexter Leblanc, Derek Leblanc, Garrett Brouillette, Owen Dempsey, Dalvin Robins and Anthony Kolb to the CRT.